Let There Be Light

By solli

Lost

An article in the latest Audubon magazine prompted me to try to find the Hawk Rise Sanctuary, a newly developed Greenway along the Rahway River. The article mentioned an industrial area in Linden, so thinking I knew where it was, I drove off into the vast grey yonder.

I ended up on private property in the Arthur Kill section of Trembley Point, where oil tanks, gas containers, billowing smoke and trucks dominate the landscape. I had a feeling this wasn't the place.

Dump trucks were coming and going along Lower Road, and within fifteen minutes a nice laddie in a black suburban pulled around to have a chat with me. I intercepted him. Waving my Audubon magazine, I mentioned I was trying to find the Hawk Rise Sanctuary. "Never heard of it." He stated. " I thought you might be a terrorist." He started chuckling and I drove away feeling very good about our nation's security.

Two hours later after getting quite lost in Carteret, I found the place. It should prove to be a very good migrant trap for about 123 species of birds and I can't wait for spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.