Friday Foto

By drmackem

Zipping up the Man Suit

I got to about 90mins before close of play at work today and came on all over brain slowed, weary and was begining to unravel, took myself down to the kettle and gave my self a talking too, and reentered the fray with a smile on my face and a wee jaunt in my step.

Finishing slightly late, I wondered wether going down the track was wise and seeing the sleet coasting in when I went to the car reluctance was taking hold. I did myself a deal, drive home via the track, and getting there thought I'd give it a go.

I enjoyed a hard session, 6X8's with 4's recovery and faster than last time per effort so objective evidence of improving fitness. I like on a Thursday night doing this mindless running session, something about the metronomic rhythm is almost hypnotic, I can loose minutes to the nothingness of it. The last effort in a constant soft hail downpour felt strangely liberating as layers of stress, worry, sadness, and self doubt were left behind.

So glad both at work and on the track that I managed to zip up my man suit and press on. It's a difficult judgement sometimes when to press on through your inner barriers is right and when listening to your slowing mind and body and stopping is the right thing. I often get it wrong, not today I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.