LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Nudity...

I went to my night class last night. A class in stroke development. Before you have to drag your mind out of the gutter, it's a swimming class! I want to know how to do front crawl without drowning myself. Last night I learnt how to do back stroke properly. I'm going to practice at the weekend.

So when we finished the class and went to change. Janie, the teacher said that the showers in the men's changing rooms worked really well but the ladies showers were utterly rubbish and we'd be as well going home to shower. Suits me really, especially since I'm used to showering at the posh gym and not in the school changing rooms. Snob? Totally! Anyway, the communal changing room in the school is as basic as it gets. However, I'm a girl, in a room full of other girls and I'm not sure what the issue is, or indeed whether it's just a typically British thing but out of the 13 women in the room ALL of them stripped off their swimming costume whilst they were hidden underneath their towel. What is that all about? I chatter too much cause I'm totally thinking too much about looking at the floor... clearly none of them were particularly comfortable undressing in front of another woman.

Now I'm not Kate Moss by any stretch of imagination Nigella meets Dawn French perhaps but I don't have any qualms about getting naked in front of other women. I need to get dry and I need to get dressed and attempting to do that whilst holding onto a towel to cover my modesty is not time efficient or indeed an efficient way of getting dry. I felt obliged to do the same though. What is that all about? Why are people so uptight about getting naked? I mean it's not like we haven't just seen each other in our swimming costumes. I'm not interested in their bits or their lumps and bumps and it just seemed an entirely unnatural way to behave. I'm not one for parading up and down the changing room naked but I'd like to be able to take off my swimmers and get dry and dressed without making such a big song and dance of hiding my tits! (Insert eye rolling emoticon here!)

So... my questions to the floor are... are you uncomfortable changing in front of other people? Do you opt for the changing cubicle? Do you hide under your towel? Are we uptight as a nation? What is all the fuss about? Or are you happy to get nekkid in company? We're all the same underneath the swimmers after all, give or take the odd bit of extra padding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.