Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Seeds of plenty

I'll be up the allotment this weekend. As well as digging, I'll be constructing a coldframe from dismantled pallets and some windows I got hold of. So really, I need to start thinking about sowing some seeds and germinating seedlings indoors (I've got a big windowsill devoted to the purpose).

No matter how many times I do it, I'm always faintly awestruck that a plant emerges from the tiny little speck that I lovingly put into moist tissue paper/ sieved compost. Which brings me to the soapbox...

I never (and I have an extremely dim regard for people who do) use peat compost. It is not sustainable and it is not needed. There is no argument you can put my way that changes the fact that peat bogs are incredibly precious, rare and endangered. And irreplaceable.

Full. F*cking. Stop.

p.s. just look at all those chile plants I'll be growing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.