Evergreen's World

By Evergreengirl

Kitchen Gadgets

I was casting about for something to photograph for a challenge in a group I belong to on Flickr. The theme of the challenge is "Gadgets". I spent some time rummaging about in the garage and in various drawers in the kitchen, trying this object and that one before I settled on these old fashioned egg beaters. I guess they just spoke to me. I'm kind of an old fashioned gal. At one time things were built to last and I enjoy the feel of an old implement in my hand, knowing that some other housewife once used it to prepare meals for her family. My kitchen is equipped with very basic pots, pans and utensils. Although I do have an electric mixer - a vintage Sunbeam Mixmaster - I'm more often inclined to pull out a wooden spoon if the recipe calls for beating something. And if it's just an egg or two, one of these old fashioned whisks will do the job just fine. Just because something is new doesn't always mean it's better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.