Alastair Cook

By AlastairCook

iPhone Portrait [169]

Chris Meade, Unlibrarian, London.

I met Chris last night, at the Electric Bookshop, and a very interesting man he is too: much more than an Unlibrarian, an interesting speaker provoking real consideration of the future of that physical object, the book; he's director of if:book, which you can read about here.

As an aside I'm still unimpressed with the iPhone 4S, the camera is poor unless in broad daylight. The autofocus rattles and will not settle in time for any spontaneous work. So the series will contain some gently fuzzy focussed images! But I console myself with the knowledge that I strive to achieve this, the Holy Grail of portraiture: that it is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, but it's another thing to make a portrait of who they are..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.