The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Normal service interrupted ...

Excuse me everyone ... (clearing of throat) ... I am taking over this blipamabob for a moment to tell you all what has happened to me today.
If you are sitting comfortably (as I was earlier on!), I shall begin...

... well ... there I was snoozing on my comfy mat in the lounge when I noticed a coat being put on in the hall. As is my habit I trotted out to see what was occuring, when suddenly my car lead was sneakily popped over my head. Early for an adventure I thought, but off I went trundling out to my very favourite little car. Off we went ... but ... a few minutes later we pulled up outside ... THE VET'S!

Oh yes ... the vet's. No one told me it was checkup and boosters day! Now I am admitedly prone to some shaking and a spot of what 'they' call 'nose whistling' in that particular waiting room ever since the day I was left there and something mysterious happened after I fell asleep. On that ocasion my dignity was most definitely offended when I woke up to find a shaved patch ... yes a shaved patch ... on my tummy or thereabouts. hmmmm! I thought I was very well behaved today, with minimal 'nose whistling' and only some shaking which I am sure was completely unnoticed by the nice lady behind the counter.

After what semed like an interminable wait ... I was prodded, and examined, and my heart was listened to. I was asked, politely I will concede, to 'pop' onto some scales. Apparently my weight of 35.5kg (or 5 stones and 8 pounds for those of you who think in real money) is just fine for a lady of my tender years (6) and breed, and I am in splendid condition. I could have told them that you know!

Then ... and this is the bit I never notice ... in went the needle! Yes, a needle! I'm sure something is skooshed under my skin you know! Dashed impertinence I think! Then there was chatting and laughing, but not with me, and no treat like some of the young vets give me to wiggle their way back into my affections. I am happy to report no further furtiveness was planned, and I was soon back home.

Just as well there was omelette for lunch, and that it was dry and sunny for my walk. Otherwise I think some huffing might have been in order. So ... thank you for nice blipfolk for reading about today's unexpected experience. If you don't mind I am off my little quiet computer room to have 40 winks on my other comfy mat :-)  Bye for now ... Maeve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.