Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Snow To The Left Of Me...

... Sunshine To The Right.. and I'm not going to ruin a decent song anymore.

I got fed up of being inside the house today, so I thought it was time to do something in the garden. There is snow on the Scottish hills in front of us, and some snow on the Lakes to the other side, but it was quite nice and warm in the sun. The air had a lovely earthy damp smell to it and there was a hedge sparrow singing it's little heart out somewhere. It would have been rude to let such a day go to waste.

Pulling up dead plants, removing the straight shoots from the base of the twisted Hazel, having a general sweep, tidying away pots, swapping hanging baskets. Basically the jobs that should have been done before now.

One thing I very rarely do is remove moss, unless it's in a really unsuitable spot (my greenhouse drainage channel), it is allowed to grow where it wants.

This small patch is on top of the wall, in direct line of sight of the Kitchen window. If the OH spots it, it wont be there for long. He has a habit of "tidying" things in the garden for me.
Wild flowers that happen to spring up in the cracks in the pavement. They get "tidied".
Seed heads that I leave to self sow for next year, they get "tidied"
I had left my green manure to rot down a bit before I dug it into the veg patch. He tidied that the other day.

I'm not really complaining, in fact a man that likes to keep a tidy house and garden is worth his weight in gold.

I wonder if I could teach him to cook.....?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.