Ikimasho!

By Hayls

I can't wait to sow my seeds...

This is a picture of my Alan Titchmarsh guide to growing 'stuff'.

I grew 'stuff' last year. Some successfully, some disastrously. However, this year I'm much wiser, my fingers have a definite green tinge to them.

I am not even going to attempt tomatoes this year. I had four grow bags of green fluffy plants that towered above my children and were held up by a forest of canes and miles of jute string. Unfortunately they yielded bugger all and ended up in the green bin being carted off in the council lorry.

I hit pay dirt with the runner beans though. Millions of the buggers. And radishes. Tasted beautiful and peppery. Carrots too! Albeit tiny dwarf like things - very pretty, very cute.

Oh and sunflowers. I love sunflowers. We had a competition last year that involved planting a seed, sticking a label with your name on it into the soil and waiting. After a very long wait and some nefarious label swapping my four year old won. I still have my suspicions but despite thorough interrogation he denies all knowledge of foul play. He's five this year. The gloves are off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.