Tales of Us

By donz

Changes

Big sigh.

Six weeks ago we arrived in the UK (5 am in the morning, in the freezing cold) having made the move from Hong Kong, major re-location number 3!

I must admit that now the furore of seeing friends and family, Christmas and New Year is over the reality has set in. J & C are busy throwing themselves in their school, meeting new friends and getting used to their new surroundings with admirable enthusiasm, R is making new contacts at work and I on the other hand am trying to break into well established friendships in a country where people historically tend to keep themselves to themselves. BUT, having said that, the people I have met through school have so far been friendly, the shopkeepers normally have a smile and sometimes even a full blown chat and although I can't say for sure that I have met 'friends' yet, each week brings me one step closer to doing so.

I do miss Hong Kong and I do miss Sydney and yes the weather is amazing in those countries but hand on heart, it's the friendships that I miss more than anything.

I look forward (now that I am online) to taking more photos and documenting my updates of life back in the UK after 10 years away, and in the meantime I need to think of a new name for my journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.