Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Cayuga Duck at Commonwealth Park

We woke up to a hard frost, and lots of dense fog. It finally lifted about 11AM, and I headed out to scout out a new park my friend Traci told me about near Cedar Hills in Portland. It is a beautiful park with an amazing trail around the whole thing, with observation decks at a variety of points. The walk around is about .8 of a mile, so very easy and user friendly (mostly all blacktopped).

I found American Coots, Geese, Mallards, American Wigeon, Buffleheads, a resident blue heron and some Cayuga Ducks. I had no idea what they were, but ran into another photographer who told me they were Cayugas....after I got home I looked them up, and they are a domesticated duck that doesn't quack much (thus great for homes or neighborhoods)!!

PS. Just witnessed a Common Merganser Take Off from the backyard pond, the photos can be found at my flickr site, along with the earlier photos from today!! Unfortunately I had already posted....but these photos were pretty amazing and thought you might enjoy seeing them :)

To see some of the other things I saw at the new pond today, check out my Flickr page....CLICK HERE!



To read more about Cayuga Ducks, CLICK HERE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.