Good food day

My dear friends Derek and Rita came round this evening for a bite of food. They're so good to me on a regular basis when I pop over to see them, feeding me with lovely suppers, entertaining me, providing companionship -- it's a bit of a sad commentary on my gratitude that it's taken so long for me to return their hospitality and invite them over to me. I finally did, it, and tonight was the night.

I'd already promised Carl that his usual help as commis-chef would not be called on, and that I was fully determined to be totally on top of things (I'm rather renowned for falling a bit behind in the kitchen, becoming panicky and leaving guests at the table for extended periods while I cope with the latest crisis and they gasp with the hunger). This time, it was totally different. Soup and part of the starter were done last night, I was up early this morning, did final bits of shopping. methodically tackled the other recipes I'd decided on, and had everything sorted by the time I met Carl at the DART station at 6.30. I'd said 7.30 for 8.00, and we sat down to starter at 8.05, prompness which is virtually unheard of here.

Dinner began with Roasted Red Pepper & Carrot soup. Main course was Slow-roasted Leg of Lamb (Italian style) with Courgette Purée, Mint Sauce, Apple & Mint Chutney and Mashed Potato. Dessert was Panna Cotta with Summer Coulis (strawberry, raspberry, cherry). It was all a great success, even if I do say so myself. The atmosphere was great, chat was mighty. All in all, a terrific night.

(The blip: I spotted this slogan on the bag I got yesterday in Fresh, the up-market foody store I got some stuff in. It nicely sums up a great day.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.