Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

A lot like Spring

My hand brushed passed the heavily scented rosemary, releasing into the air a wondrous spring-time fragrance. I stopped to smell the blossom on the trees and Teacher A captured this for me.

Today unexpectedly I was Mummy Teacher at the YWCA school. I'm becoming ever fond of the place as is Callum, his place for self discovery, the big yard now at base level as it makes way for a greener tree house, bike run and dirt hill, tree stumps as stools, discarded tyres and crates which the children use to build their own cities, scavenging for pipes and other construction materials they can find to create their own make believe wonderland. I love to see how happy Callum is with his new friends. Reuben too was happy when I picked him up from school and so begins a week without any help (thanks to Jenn and Kristina for watching the boys for me last night!). So rather than feel tired and moan, I'll get out and do what I'm best at, shooting at a gorgeous location I haven't shared here with the boys, but was always one of my favourites. I have so many ideas in planning on how I'd like to capture them, but today, I'm just being lazy in sharing this with a little bit of CLP editing thrown in. I think it's probably the only iPhone image that exists of me, maybe.

Last night, I met star photographers Lin & Jirsa Photography (LJP), the leading LA and Orange County wedding photographers, shooters of 100+ weddings a year, in conjunction with Smugmug which I've used for many years for my website. 'Twas an excellent training presentation on branding, SEO and marketing. I'm a Chartered Marketer and my studies in marketing were a good 15 years ago so I'm rusty, yet the sound principles and how I should apply them to my business came flooding back, albeit that the internet hadn't quite made its colossal potential widely known when I was studying. A few great opportunities are coming my way via the studio: I have a press pass for WPPI (the Wedding Photography Association)'s Vegas tradeshow where I'll be interviewing, product reviewing and article writing thanks to SLR Lounge which I highly recommend for training founded by LJP, whom I'm working for in March for the first time. Check out their work and you'll see how privileged I feel. I've also recently invested in their fantastic shooting bags under the brand Undfind and was delighted to win an additional Waist Shooter from the biz card drop. My neck I'm sure will never look back as I'm able to carry both the 70-200L and 35/1.4L on my waist.

Anyway, this all seems a bit work wordy, but it's just amusing how a few links have all fitted together rather nicely.

Huge challenges in my family life ahead and just as with the equilibrium of nature finding balance, photography has throughout my entire life been able to provide it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.