african adventure

By 2012

on safari...

My first safari.

I wasn't sure if it would be my kind of thing. I'm quite happy to leave wildlife in peace in its own environment. Everyone else was going though, and a couple of people convinced me I'd be missing out if I skipped it.

Mind you, I've never been one for doing something just because everyone else is. I seem to be capable of independent thought. Makes life uncomfortable sometimes, but what the hell.

So off we went in our 2 Land Rovers and a Toyota Landcruiser, complete with 3 driver/guides.

Tarangire National Park was our first target, about 100km southwest of Arusha. It's not as famous as some, but it has prolific elephant herds. We had our first close encounter with them inside 5 minutes. Close as in 3 metres away - a female checking us out as she protected her baby.

I could have chosen any number of shots from that day to post up here, but finally selected a long distance one of a group of elephants cavorting in a mud hole in the midday heat.

Fun to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.