David J. Rose

By djrose007

Up in the attic

I went into the garage attic to look for the rest of the stamp collection, which is mostly presentation packs over the past 3o odd years but there is also my old stamp book from when I was a youngster. Someone said something in a recent email about the value of stamps so I thought it would be worth getting them together to sort them out for valuation.
You know my interest in aircraft so I was thrilled to find these two presentation packs. There is also the 50th anniversary of the battle of Britain in there somewhere.

Of course, while in the attic I got distracted with my old RAF kitbag and while wearing my old 'Chip Bag' forage cap I looked through my old memorabilia. In the bag there is also a huge stack of letters that I sent to Marlane when I was stationed at RAF Gan, in the Maldives and when I did a couple of years with Lockheed in Saudi. Hope the 'Children' don't find those until after we pass away!!!!!
Also found tons of other memorabilia in the box with the stamps, a few invitations to dinner with the Ambassador (Riyadh), Daniels school stuff from Saudi including an Embassy certificate saying what a well behaved boy he was during the school visit, and lots of cards that the children had made for various occassions. We were there for 8 years in all during the 1980's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.