What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Flowers: Tulips, janchallenge

Most of my friends know I'm no botanist, with my flower knowledge stretching to two types - tulips, and non-tulips! These, even I know, are tulips. I loved the way they were just wilting but thought they needed a distressed background to match their age.

Flowers shot in front of a plain white background on D700 with 70 - 200mm lens, Background shot on I-touch using Hipstamatic, to give the toned, aged look to the background.

Two shots then layered, and a bit of adjustment, tweaking blending modes and layer strengths and soft focus on the tulips all in PhotoShop.

Beautiful day in the Lakes today, clear, mist this morning and snow on the tops, you so nearly had a landscape instead of a challenge pic, but I still like the tulips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.