rflxn

By rflxn

Digital Workhorse

This is a great camera. The two most important features are
1 It's full frame
2 It's full frame.

Bigger sensor means first of all a wider field of view compared to a cropped one. My 50mm lens gives me the sought after normal view. That also gives me shallower depth of field because I have to go closer to the subject to fill the frame. Also, the 35mm focal plane means a huge and bright viewfinder. It is such a pleasure to look upon the world through such a window. Bigger sensor produces better noise performance, too. Everything is bigger due to the sensor size and that means better ergonomics.

Canon 5D (Mark I) isn't a modern camera. I does only what still cameras do, but it does it well. There's only 9 AF points, maximum ISO is at 1,600 and that can be doubled to 3,200, but that's as high as it goes. Performance up there is mediocre compared to newer models, but in no means ugly. There's no video capability with this one.

Modern cameras easily outspec the senior 5D, but that doesn't mean it is not still a good camera. I can trust my tool of choice anywhere I go, and I guess that is the most important thing for anyone who needs to get the job done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.