Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Glasgow Necropolis : Major Monteith Mausoleum

I had another Blipmeet today, with Melamny who had come through to meet up with my #2 and a crowd of students for a Celtic Connections concert. She had contacted me back in November, to ask to use my Remembrance Wreath on an Order of Service.

We had a walk around town, starting off in Buchanan Street for a peek at Clanadonia, but they were having an interval between numbers and only one band member was there with their kit.

Headed off up to the University of Strathclyde Campus, then on to the Cathedral and a first visit to the Necropolis. It was after 4 pm when I took this, light fading. The red sandstone Mausoleum for Major Archibald Douglas Monteith, was designed by David Cousins of Edinburgh in 1842. Neo-Norman, elaborate "temple church" type, according to my searches online this evening.

What a view to the Southside from up here, worth a look in large. You can see the Whitelees Windfarm in the distance.

F

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.