The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

The Inferno

Fire is a wonderful thing. It warms our bodies, cooks our food, and gives us a marvelous atmosphere to tell tales around. We can pop corn, toast marshmallows, and spin an urban tale that will make our hair stand on end!

It may be late January here in New Jersey, but that will never stop me from firing up the grill and making a tasty treat. Tonight, it was lime/jalapeno marinated hanger steaks, with a touch of chili powder and smoked paprika. I served it up with some simple rice cooked in coconut milk, and some roasted carrots with leeks.

When I was a kid, my father was the grill master of our family. He taught all of us the fine art of charcoal grilling. After he died, my mom left it up to us kids to take on the tradition, which we all have done with glee.

I'm not certain if it is because of our Armenian heritage or not, but the smell of a charcoal fire always makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.