A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Coney Island

I decided this morning to use this sunny day to go to Coney Island. In 9 months in New York, including some very, very hot days, I hadn't managed to make it there. So why not in January!

I saw:
1) 3 guys looking for gold with metal detectors. One on the beach, the other two in the water. Yep, the Atlantic Ocean in January, 2 guys shoulder deep in water.
2) A meeting of gulls. They seemed very intrigued by the gold diggers.
3) A few fishermen/fisherwomen, wrapped up in layers of clothes.
4) Run down buildings. Coney isn't all shiny and new, and it's what makes it so intriguing (for the gulls, and myself)
5) 3 guys (not the same as no1), in the water, on seadoos. Yep. Not exactly that well dressed for it either. I predict pneumonias. And frozen limbs.

The quietness of the beach seduced me. And then I fell in love with this run-down building that must have been gorgeous at some point, and now looks as if it has sustained armed attacks. Still beautiful, though. Its only inhabitant was a guy who told me, seeing my camera, quick, look, there, a mermaid.

I didn't see the mermaid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.