Kite Day at New Brighton

Kite Day at New Brighton was fantastic.

So many people having fun. People flying kites, running around, looking, swimming, talking and laughing. It was great, just wonderful

This was the first time for my friends and I have headed out to New Brighton since before last February's earthquakes. We only saw a small slice of the damage to the eastern suburbs. It's hard to describe and find the words for house after house abandoned and at crazy angles, slumped and destroyed land.

When I was a kid we made kites with brown paper, newspaper, string and tape. We used Mum's old panty hose cut up and tied on for the tail. Then I got a plastic kite with dowling struts and Mum painted Micky Mouse on it. I graduated to using off-cuts of sail cloth nylon to make kites in my late teens.

Nothing that home made here today. Some of the big animals, space ships etc are worth NZ$8,000 - 10,000. I keep a kite in the back of my car. I'm going to fly it more.

Take aways and a DVD with the hunter later on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.