lightscape*

By tolu

Kitchen pot plant

I neglect you
I have to confess to thinking of you less than less than I should.
I'm impressed that you haven't given up on me by now,
By your lonely success in staying alive,
but I guess,
that's the difference between us

I dress, by day,
often under duress,
But mostly to impress, be it evening dress or sunday best.
And when I undress its in the hope to entice,
sensually
like a temptress to impress with my naked finesse.

But you
You possess a dignity and poise I can only dream of.
Expressing with every leafy tress,
a beauty that is effortless
and does not obsess about itself but is simply there to bless


And as though to redress my careless neglect,
This mornings address
like heavens bequest
Professed you blessed
With the sunrise that sent its burnished rays
To dress, to caress
To fluoresce,
In a glorious golden morning dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.