B mused

By becah

the sonnet

Sonnet 29

When, in disgrace with fortune and men's eyes,
I all alone beweep my outcast state
And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries
And look upon myself and curse my fate,
Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,
Featured like him, like him with friends possess'd,
Desiring this man's art and that man's scope,
With what I most enjoy contented least;
Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,
Haply I think on thee, and then my state,
Like to the lark at break of day arising
From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven's gate;
For thy sweet love remember'd such wealth brings
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.


EDIT - for all the movie buffs out there; in Pretty Woman, Edward reads this out to Vivian when they are in the park......I nevah knew......


Happenings
1924 - Ice cream cone rolling machine patented by Carl Taylor, Cleveland
1978 - Sweden outlaws aerosol sprays due to their harmful effect on the ozone layer, becoming the first nation to enact such a ban.
1983 - "Down Under" by Men At Work hit #1 on UK pop chart
2005 - The first direct commercial flights from the mainland China (from Guangzhou) to Taiwan since 1949 arrived in Taipei. Shortly afterwards, a China Airlines carrier landed in Beijing.


Famous Birthdays - mostly actors it would seem.....
Andrew Keegan
Sara Gilbert
Heather Graham
Oprah Winfrey
Ann Jillian
Tom Selleck
Katharine Ross
John Forsythe
Victor Mature
W.C. Fields

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.