Don't Stand in my Light

By JacquiJay

Getting down to it

Today I went to Homebase and bought a pack of white polystyrene ceiling tiles, 500 mm square, and built a three sided frame using magic tape so I could peel it off afterwards and also added a 'floor' to it. I have a room with a window in each of the two sides of an L shape; I dragged my dining table into the centre of where the two light sources met and altered the side 'wings' of my frame so that no shadows were falling on the centre panel.
I shot the photograph with my 85mm at f1.6, ISO 200, handheld. (I know, I'm very lazy about using my tripod).
After using levels and curves to lighten the image a bit, I applied textures and used a couple of adjustment layers.
It's not perfect, and I could have wished that our English skies were a bit less grey, but the whole exercise gave me a greater understanding of getting to the whole high key result I want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.