Friday Foto

By drmackem

Keeping busy on a Sunday Morning

I'll be honest, this was not the image I'd intended, but I retrieved it from the cutting room floor when I saw something different in it.

The initial plan was to take a shot of some of the passing cyclists as I ran ( I did plan to stop to press the shutter) to mother in laws for Sunday roast after church this morning. One day I'll get that shot of the peleton shooting past, ideally with earthdreamery as part of the pack. Anyway the plan was for a bit of motion blur.I'd been thinking about the background as I ran along, hoping for some cyclist to come my way then had about 5 seconds to stop, switch camera on, point and shoot, then would have deleted it if I hadn't been running.

So this evening reviewing it before deleting it, I kind of liked the contrast between the blur of the cyclists and the more sedentary and productive background of farmers and their sheep.

It's an oddity of modern life (hands up I'm guilty) that we do sedentary jobs that are all about outcomes and then fight the ill effects of that by exercising that can end up about outcomes, whether that's flabfighting, performance chasing, which we can only afford to do if we work harder.... this juxtaposition of the cyclists blur and the farmers moving slowly reminds me to run first of all for the joy and life of it and maybe also to do that thing I call "work" with some of the same centredness too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.