One Day Like This

By sennema

Leftovers

Don't ever throw away your food, that's a thing J. and I agree on. Unfortunately, J.'s interpretation is to eat until there's nothing left (which I have to counter with cooking less, which is good as well), mine is to turn what's left into a new meal the next day. Some of these meals turn out better than others, but on the whole I tend to surprise J. with the results. Goodness, I'm turning into one of those!

Well, today I had to work with a white-cabbage-with-potatoe-stew-leftover. It took a bit of an epiphany to come up with the idea to turn it into cookies: I had a sudden craving for those disgusting prefabricated rosti rounds. Because cabbage goes really well with curry spices, I decided on an Indian take to potato biscuits. I mixed the stew leftover with red pepper, garlic, curry powder, an egg, made biscuits and coated them with bread crumbs. Baked them in lots of oil (not doing to well on the resolutions lately) and served with a rocket salad with goat cheese, balsamic vinegar and honey. Happy tummy, happy husband.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.