Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

The Almonry

Another ancient building blip but this time it is taken in Evesham.

Went for a walk down by the river this afternoon, it was cold but not too bad once I'd got about 20 layers on. Couldn't get over the number of people walking dogs, it was packed down there - some gorgeous dogs too, my favourites were the beagle and the boxer dog.

There was a fishing competition just drawing to a close, we ended up following the fish weighers down the path as they checked up on everyone. We walked back into town and ended up just down the road from this Almonry Museum building - I've driven past it loads of times but not really registered just how old it is. It is a 14th century building - that just doesn't seem possible. Must come back when the museum is open and see what's inside.

As we were walking down the high street, I was looking up at the buildings above the shops - some really old ones and some modern (and hideous!) buildings and saw that above the O2 shop is a plaque saying that 'King Charles I stayed here July 1644' I can't believe I haven't noticed that before either.

Must practice being a bit more observant...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.