FirehorseMia

By FirehorseMia

Chateau Blank 1987

Chateau Blanc

This block of apartments was built in the 80's. They were the first to be built within the CBD for yuppies.
The developer sold the apartments beforehand to raise the funds for the construction. The stock market crash of 1987 had just hit, so he was struggling to get takers.
I was hired to paint an artists impression from the plans to inspire some sales. One of my first jobs after graduating.
I was appalled by the nasty design and the venal developer, but he paid me $500 for the job. I would not earn that much for the same job now - in fact my hourly rate has only just again reached what it was when greed was good!

Already demolished: half the apartments and an awful tower that was on the right of this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.