Evergreen's World

By Evergreengirl

Handyman

My guy spent a good part of the afternoon changing out the dining room light fixture for me. When we moved into this house it had the most hideous faux Victorian (or something) light fixture in the dining area. The fixture not only looked awful, it was positioned off center in the room and produced a harsh uneven light - not exactly the ambience we wanted for our dining pleasure. I've been looking for something that I both liked and could afford for almost two years now and finally we found the perfect fixture at one of our favorite stores: the Re-Store! The Re-Store is a non-profit that accepts used building, electrical, and plumbing supplies and re-sells them to the public.

We've scored plenty of goodies at the Re-Store: a claw-foot tub for our master bathroom, bathroom sinks, the kitchen sink and faucet, tiles for the guest bathrooms's vanity, knobs for the kitchen cupboards, and much more, all at a fraction of the cost of buying new. I was pretty sure if I looked long enough I'd find a light fixture there and finally I did.

Our new light has a simple moss-green pleated shade made of a woven material with a globe shaped milk glass shade for the bulb in the middle of it. I tried for a picture of it, but it turned out kinda boring. Suffice it to say that it's simple and fits the casual style of our decor. Total cost, even after buying a new dimmer switch and a few miscellaneous bits came to less than $35! I'm fortunate to be married to a guy who's both handsome and handy.

A little James Taylor for your listening pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.