african adventure

By 2012

Final Chapter

The last day

Well, that's it. Time to pack up, check out and head for the airport. A longish trip back. Ethiopian Airlines to Addis Ababa, then overnight with them to London. Finally the short hop to Edinburgh with BMI.

Then a reunion with my son at the airport.

I like Kilimanjaro Airport. 5 minutes to check in (and the desk was open when I got there 2.5 hrs before departure). 5 minutes for passport control and security.

The adventure mostly went according to plan. Addis Ababa was a bit less tourist friendly than I expected. The mountain was tougher than anyone expected. The safari involved more driving than I expected. None of it detracted from the fun of it all. Dealing with the unexpected is part of it.

It will be strange when I get home. No more planning or preparation for the big trip. Just need to gather in all that sponsorship cash and get final figures.

The big question remains. Am I the only person ever to have climbed the mountain and not bought the t-shirt?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.