Seismic Blips

By Seismicshed

A is for Altruists

I thought earlier after reading of @pontycyclops 's alphabet challenge that this would be something I could have some fun with. In fact my first thought was to adopt the words from a rugby song called 'the alphabet song' (google it, but not if you're easily offended) which begins with the line 'A is for arseholes all covered in hair'. A moment's reflection soo. Lead me to abandon this idea for fear of violating some decency laws.

So instead I thought little of the whole thing until I considered something that has taken up quite a portion of my Monday. Earlier I had to collect my mum from giving blood, as she'd fainted and was in a pretty woozy state. I took her home and stayed with her till my dad got home, but not until he had donated. Both mum and dad have day given 40 or more pints of blood over the years. I went back later to make my donation, the 11th pint that I've given up and was pretty awestruck when for a moment I considered just how busy it was and how many people were doing this selfless thing. So here they are - just some of the wonderful individual human beings inconveniencing themselves, without any reward beyond a cup of tea and a biscuit, for the benefit of total strangers they will never meet. I'm proud to count myself amongst them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.