Nesssaintee's World

By nesssaintee

The moon and jupiter :-)

It's been another lovely day weatherwise, with sun wasting it's awesome loveliness on the death star.
Not that I got much chance to see it.
Just kept my head down and let Monday and all it's woes unfold.
The journey home on the Hogwarts Express was pleasant too, even the bit where it tip toes carefully across the canal bridge at Clachnaharry :-)
I thought I wasn't going to catch this as it was cloudy and I couldn't see the moon when I got off the train.
But by the time I got home, yes, I have just called it home :-/
The sky had cleared, I have taken other pics of the moon, you can find them here if you want to have a look
http://twitpic.com/8donnt
http://twitpic.com/8dooir
But I am delighted with this one, there is so much going on some that you can see and some you can't
Around the time I took this. the moon was at apogee (the furthest point out on it's orbit around the earth).
You might be able to just make out some earthshine on the moon.
Some will and some won't be able to just make out a little dot above and to the left of Jupiter, that's one of Jupiters moons Ganymede, the largest moon in the solar system.
Another thing you can't see is below Jupiter and over to the right slightly is Io, Europa and Callisto, they were a bit to close to resolve with my camera.
I did have a look with binoculars, thought it was lovely to see the trio appear about the same distance from Jupiter, one above the other.
Hope you've all had a good Monday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.