My Life in My Hands

By IanCam

Ripon Obelisk and Town Hall

Apart from needing a tripod the only real technical issue here was getting the obelisk vertical when using a wideangle lens. (As soon as the camera is pointed upward the obelisk would appear to lean into the shot). This is best overcome by using an expensive tilt and shift lens, which I don't have.

I worked round it by moving further back and using a wider angle than necessary keeping the camera body pointed level at the distant Town Hall. The camera had to be supported vertically to get the top of the obelisk in frame, but also giving me too much foreground, which had to be cropped out. Only about half the file was useable, but for this use the small file size is acceptable.

Why did I take it? because otherwise you'd have had another shot of my still untidy desk where I was working today. So on the way back from the shops this evening I gave myself a refresher in photographing the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.