A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

The Old Man of Storr

This is real landmark. Seen by many when driving to Portree it stands out above and beyond the town. Let me be honest, I may have walked up here less than five times in my life so far. Mind you, having been here today, I would really like to walk up here in the summer once again.

Today the ground was frozen and the wind chill was significant. And due to the medication I am now on it was hard work making the steep climbs. It was though really exhilarating to be there.

When I was close under the cliffs behind the Old Man I was over flown by two RAF Typhoons. Have you ever heard these aircraft close to? I can tell you I could feel my organs inside my chest vibrating. Exciting? Oh to be sure! Just wish my camera at that point hadn't been attached to my tripod and tucked under my arm.

I have a feeling that they may have flown from RAF Coningsby. A tad far away. Lincoln direction.

Anyway I met a few folk up there, yes, even today. A couple and their young daughter from Edinburgh; One from Elgin and a local lad from Portree like myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.