A place in time

By Verbosa

Books, books, books!

This is a shot of the inside of my local library - taken from the second floor looking down onto the first floor. Mind you, I got into a bit of trouble in taking it, as I had a member of staff rushing up to find out what I was doing! I duly showed him the snap and explained about Blipfoto (I hope he looked it up) and could prove to him that I had not included any photos of people in the library (apart from the side/back shot of the chap in the hat - but you cannot see who he is).

Apparently, I should have asked for permission to take a photo inside the library (oops) and he had to check me out in case I was "a terrorist" or somesuch. I even chuckled at that and asked him if he really thought I looked like a terrorist - but I guess it takes all sorts, eh?

Anyway, I was only returning a book today. On the way in, I helped an elderly lady who seemed flummoxed by the electronic bar-code scanner that they now have at the library (instead of people and their little inked stamps that they used to have). Things are changing so rapidly, aren't they? Certainly my 19yr old son has never seen a library where they store the little cards from the front of your book in your little library "card" which they kept those long drawers...everything sorted alphabetically. You just take all these changes for granted, I guess, don't you...

Still, I hope libraries do continue. Saying that, I was disappointed to find out (upon enquiring) that although they do now have e-books that you can borrow electronically from the library, they do not do them for Kindles. I reckon they are missing quite a trick here - as I'm sure Kindle owners would happily agree to pay a nominal sum to hire an electronic book?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.