Butt

A morning of all mornings made better by a text from one of my friends. She said there were elk, huge ones, on the road near her home. So when I headed toward my son's preschool to drop him, I made a quick detour to find the elk.

I found them, but they were already up into the trees. Now this is actually right in the middle of town. There were three huge elk hanging out. I was sort of wishing I could have gotten closer, but 1) there was a huge ravine between us and 2) I might have been impaled.

My youngest and I watched them for awhile. You could see the steam from their breath in the cold air and two of them even locked horns for a bit vying for who would remain on top of the hill.

Then a homeless man wandered nearby and stopped to pee by a tree. A priceless morning for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.