Jeff Greene's Daily Photo

By JeffGreene

Pan Fried Chicken

Got bored cooking the same meals every week so last night and today I whipped up some fried chicken using a seasoning blend I formulated about 30 years ago early in my restaurant career.

Back then I was young, fresh out of college, and full of culinary innovations. Most were naive, but a few of my recipes from the early 80's have stood the test of time, and a couple have even been published... So along with my signature dishes of Cioppino and Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Prawns, I'm also quite proud of my fried chicken seasoning blend.

Well, that was all fine and good when I was in my 20's ...back then my only concern regarding cholesterol was how to pronounce it properly. But as I got older I had to start eating "Heart Smart" - so fried chicken and bacon wrapped anything were "out".

Today was a rare exception where I broke the rules a wee bit...

Hence, I find it quite amusing that, as I selected today's Blip, I noticed that the newspaper section I used to protect the counter top was for the local obituaries.

Check out the upper left corner where the Deaths, Funerals section is clearly visible...

A sign?

Nothing prophetic I trust. Hopefully it's just a warning.

In the meantime pass me the cornbread and butter dish....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.