world in a grain of sand

By kateann

the reluctant orientalist

what happens when you are sentimental and a bit of a hoarder? you end up with a house full of things like this ?japanese ?vase; because your husband's great grandfather brought it back from foreign parts when he was a sailor and you couldn't bear to send it to the charity shop!
This is a detail from the vase or whatever. It was once part of a pair, kept on a half landing but my sister in law fell into the other one when she was learning to walk so I suppose at least I should count my blessings that I only have one to give house room to.
I do actually love to have family things, I think it's because there are very few from my own family that go back farther then my parents. Having had to sort out my mother's things last year following her death I am resolved not to keep so many things and burden my daughters with that task one day. I'm not very good at it though! I need to keep in mind that it's the memories of the people rather than their things that are important. Having said that the great grandfather in question also provided a beautiful needlework box and collar box both of which I am very fond of...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.