Let There Be Light

By solli

I Heart Bricks

I love old brick. Particularly the terra cotta type, the ones with deep wells and makers markings that read Cary or P8C or Washburn or wingpig.
These bricks are heavy with the meaning of history and domestic life and I fiendishly collect them to use in my walkways and as hedges for my gardens.

I admit that my roving eye will cause me to jump out of the car at a demolition site to peruse the rubble for good solid specimens. Over the years I've dragged my poor hubby and his father into the hunt and I'm sure both think I'm daft. Who can explain it? Bricks speak to me in the most eloquent way. All colors are beautiful but I particularly love the plums.

As I was shooting a wonderful golden brick tower deep in the bowels of Elizabeth, a little cloud hovered alongside. It wasn't until I got home that I saw it resembled a heart. That was it. Blipping brick today!

On another note, I'm very happy that the creators of Scotland the World Over thought my entry was worthy to add to their film. It moves at the speed of light but can be spotted at 3 minutes 13 seconds.

I <3 it! Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.