Tank Trap

This morning I got to the dentist, and got a clean blll of health, which is pleasing.

Then I parked in my usual spot on a little bit of wasteland that's handy for getting the bus into town. Usually I just walk to the bus stop, but since I drove to the dentist it made more sense to go there than to drive home before going to the office.

Unfortunately when I pulled into the space there was a bit of a grinding noise and the car stopped abruptly. I had gone in at a slightly arkward angle and thanks to some soft mud the car had sunk just a little lower than usual. The front had ridden over the steel spike (pictured) but then the next beam had caught on it and stopped me. It was angled upwards just like a tank trap, so I couldn't reverse out either.

So, after work this evening, I had to come home and get a jack and some planks, and raise the car off the spike a little at a time. With several planks under each wheel, I was eventually able to reverse off. It doesn't look like anything is damaged (touch wood) so hopefully this little mishap will prove to be nothing more than a minor annoyance - and the sensation of being a complete idiot.

Hopefully I have learned to use a little more caution when parking on unpaved areas... I thought I should blip the spike (highlighting it with my flash) so that I am reminded of this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.