Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Surely a cheat! Photo of my monitor displaying an old image, undergoing some editing. There is a logic, other than a Blip of desperation.

= = = = = = = = = =

Part-1

The original was taken with my first, and very new, digital camera back on the 8th of January 2005. I was away to the Isle of Skye for the weekend, with a couple of kayaking friends. Wild forecast, so the kayaks were left at home, and we went walking instead. The subject of the photo is The Old Man of Storr, Skye (not to be confused with The Old Man of Stoer). We were siting up the hill behind this impressive pinnacle, tucking in to packed lunches, with flasks of tea. Earlier We'd each taken a few photos, but they were merely snaps. When another hillwalker appeared at the base of the rock, the opportunity to catch something much more interesting was realised by all three of us. In unison we put down the cups and reached for the cameras. With someone standing on the skyline next to subject, there was now a sense of the sheer size of The Old Man.

At the end of the weekend, before departing, I plugged the camera into a television, and we had a slide-show of the photos. We were all surprised at the quality of the captured images. When my two friends received their processed films back, they were less impressed, and decide to go digital...

= = = = = = = = = =

Part-2

As regular visitors may well be aware, I fix things. Especially those of an electrical and electronic nature. Both during work and "play" time. Computers of all shapes and sizes, with both hardware and software problems, are often tackled. When someone brings a computer in for repair, and it has the likes of the original Microsoft desktop image (quite a few do), I make a point of changing it to one of my own photos. I know, a bit cheeky... hey, but I am! I'll select something that I think they'll like, and of course remove it if they don't. Normally it will be left as a wee surprise, and I'll await their response.

The above image was used for one such individual's computer, as I knew he was a very keen hill walker, and he'd be well familiar with the subject. About three years later, and I was asked around to sort an Internet access problem. I was most surprised to see the same photo was still on his desktop, despite him taking many photos himself. He really liked it, and I was quite touched by that.

That individual, was Terry McDonagh.

= = = = = = = = = =

Part-3

I first met Terry when I was a Student at Inverness College in the mid-eighties. Anyone that had the good fortune to meet him soon knew that he had a big character. Friendly, fun, and definitely the type of person that uplifts spirits in a room, by just being there. A very keen sportsman, in a wide variety of fields, and well known for encouraging others in whatever they were doing. He loved the outdoors, and had "done" all the Munros and Corbertts several times. Just as comfortable in a group on the hills, as being out there on his own. I can't give appropriate details of the extent of his activities, and the numbers of people that have known him, other than to say they were wide, and very numerous. A husband, father, and grandfather.

Terry was recently out hill walking alone on a ridge in the Arrochar mountains of Argyll, when he tragically fell to death. It was his funeral today. The church was packed.

I'm more than grateful to have known something of Terry. He helped so many, that it was always a pleasure to be able to do some things to help him. He will be greatly missed by his family, and those many. Such a tragic loss. May he rest in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.