freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

Friends in Unlikely Places

Another day, another job. I headed out to the sticks near Allanton to get shots of a renovated cottage that was about to restart life as a holiday retreat. I forgot to ask how the owner had found me, so I arrived not knowing what or who to expect. Late, because I faffed about in my inimitable way and then realised it was a longer drive than I'd expected.

It turned out that C, the owner, was one of those people I was instantly on the same wavelength as - wonderfully chilled out, and with a mad twinkle in her eye. Turns out her partner is my old car mechanic from years ago, who had kept my card all this time, and that's how she'd found me. Even more surprisingly, it transpires my web designer mate had gone to school with her in Edinburgh and they hadn't seen each other since leaving. It's a small world after all.

They've done a great job creating a cosy hideaway, and I'm going round for tea and cakes at the beginning of next month for the house-warming. Serendipity is your friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.