Ikimasho!

By Hayls

Go on, give it a go...

This arrived in the post today (not Buzz). Reminded me of the fabulousness of youth hostels and of how I'd promised my boys we'd go hostelling more often.

Our last jaunt was to Windermere and it was completely wonderful. The sun was splitting the sky, the scenery was magnificent and there was a bar selling ice cold beer at the hostel! What more could a girl ask for? Hubby and I sat on a bench bathed in glorious sunshine sipping our beers watching the boys running around like mad things. In front of us was the most beautiful vista of lakes and hills that took up the entire horizon and beyond. Ahhh, happy days!

I know youth hostelling is not everyone's cup of tea - I'm thinking of my sister-in-law and her daughters in particular. They'd probably consider legal action if they were forced to stay in one. I however can't recommend them highly enough. Go on, you don't know till you try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.