The high road

By Travellersjoy

Coastal Erosion

Lovely dry day today, with a bit of sun, in keeping with the time of year, Rachel and I went to visit the holy well freespiral had shown me. This would have been my blip today as It's very beautiful but afterwards we took a walk along the nearby strand. It looked completely different to the last time I was there, as the sea had worn away the base of the cliffs and then the upper part had collapsed, exposing lots of fresh stones.
In Dorset, my home place before moving to Ireland, I loved exploring the mud slips, which I think were Blue Lias clay, around Lyme Regis, here the slips exposed some wonderful fossils. This clay, here near Bantry, does not seem to have any fossils in it but the exposed rocks look like they were worn smooth by the sea. Oh, to have the company of a geologist and revisit this place, I would love to know the processes that have gone on here! I might have to make do with a geology map of the area!!!
That's Rachel beach combing, we found some lovely coloured pebbles, her presence gives a bit of scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.