Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Smell of cut grass

Best large, just ignore the splodges on his face. I'm always over zealous with the natural super high factor suntan lotion and this brand does not rub in. And of course, his poor little red eyes from his infection for which he thankfully has antibiotics now.

This little man has really not been well of late, but I think, despite the persistent snivels, could just about make out the smell of fresh cut fresh on the cliffs of Santa Monica as he looked down longingly at the turrets of the Cirque du Soleil, now majestically sitting alongside the pier.

"I want to go to the circus!", he exclaimed.

"What about the carousel?". So we enjoyed our ride along with pink ice cream.

I guess we'll have to get tickets for when we're all better and before Reu's heart surgery.

I'm extremely grateful first to nurse Kristina who did a shift with Reuben til midnight, and then the surprise arrival of nurse Jenn to take over for the nightshift. After 6 night shiftshifts in a row for Reuben along with looking after the boys during the day with their snotty noses and Callum's repeat fevers from his now secondary infection, I was really reaching my exhaustion limit coping by myself and of course, became sick too. I get by with little sleep, but not continuously. I was only woken momentarily by Kristina to tell me that Jenn had arrived and I was able to quickly get back into my FOURTEEN HOUR mammoth sleep. It really did seem like a dream til I awoke to the sound of my alarm and Callum munching on the hot breakfast Jenn had made for him. I was able to take Reuben to school and Callum out for the day in Santa Monica, before a late afternoon of speech and physical therapy for Reuben. The challenges of school being so far from home, about 40 minutes on the freeway, means that the school run means being out for the full day as I don't wish to make that journey 4x a time, but it does bring the opportunity of the many delights of Santa Monica to enliven our senses.

Soft florals backBlip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.