Portrait of a Small Bristle Fly

A member of a family of parasitic flies that help control insect pests.

I'm not entirely happy with this shot. I was carrying out an experiment when my camera, which has had an intermittent fault for a long time, suddenly packed it in. I had hoped to improve on the clarity of the focus. Large

A large bristle fly

A different small bristle fly

The problem is with the lens. I suspect there is dust preventing it from opening and closing smoothly. On other occasions I have managed to get it open to clean the outside of the barrel and to brush the space around it. So far this time I have not been able to get it open sufficiently.

The humidity is high today. I'm hoping it will be cooperative when the air is dryer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.