Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

Steaming Threesome

After another disturbed night, when I kept waking up coughing, I finally had to admit defeat and quit the marital bed for the spare room, so Rebecca could get some peace and quiet.

She woke me to look at the sunrise, clear and colourful over a hard frost. The three power stations, Drax, Eggborough and Ferrybridge steamed through the sunlight, pluming high in the chilly stillness. I had to take a picture.

What the people across the road would have thought if they'd seen me, wild-haired, standing on a chair, in my night shirt, squinting through a camera at the rising sun...........

As I settled back down in bed, I checked Twitter. Gobsmacked!! The very same view had been tweeted by @NatashaaJackson, from Bradford. She asked what was causing the plumes, so I tweeted a reply to let her know.

Drax is 22 miles away from us, Eggborough is 18 miles away and Ferrybridge 14 miles. We can also see these power stations from the hide on our patch. As it is about seven miles closer, the cooling towers are visible as well as the steam. They are useful reference points when trying to describe where flying birds are and they help to indicate wind strength and visibility. The many uses of fossil fuel, eh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.