Marking Time

By Libra

Swimming with stingrays - Antigua

Spent morning swimming with stingrays off the coast of Antigua in a place known as Stingray City .

This is a big tourist attraction in this area and there were abaout 30 of us in the party. We were taken by speedboats out to sea then dropped into the water where stingrays circled us in expectation of food.

We were warned not to be alarmed if they should mistake us for a meal which is just as well for within minutes of being in the water I found my hand grabbed and it was half way down a stingrays throat before I realised what had hapapened.

I don't know who was the most surprised - the fish or myself.

Amongst our party was a 92 year old woman just back from cruising a 1,000 miles up the Amazon. She was amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.