Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

-26C

Last day in Estonia, last chance to get out of Tallinn for the day. We chose Tartu, Estonia's second largest city 2 hours inland from Tallinn. Unfortunately we didn't last more than 15 minutes outside.

Within 5 minutes, walking away from the hostel the tops of my thumbs, poking from my fingerless gloves were numb. Then went the feet and then the legs. The cars and buses driving down the main ring road outside of the old city walls left a trail of steam behind them. My breath turned to ice on my scarf and my hat, too, crystallised above my recently showered hair.

Fiona's hair got it worse though, apparently ageing 40 years in 40 seconds. We had to run to McDonalds to take shelter, along with a bunch of other scantily clad commuters taking a 5 minute early morning BigMac break. We never made it to Tartu.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.