Ikimasho!

By Hayls

It's a jungle out there...

In defiance of the cold (it's not actually that cold here in balmy Glasgow) I forced my rather reluctant offspring to join me in a visit to the Botanics in the west end of Glasgow.

We whizzed around the Kibble Palace and then hot-footed it to the glasshouses where I'd convinced my youngest that dragons and dinosaurs were lurking ready to gobble him up. Unfortunately I was rather too convincing and he point-blank refused to go in. After some gentle coercion and the promise of an ice cream afterwards he braved the dreaded Tropical Room.

We did indeed spot dragons and dinosaurs amongst the awe-inspiring trees and plants and I wonder if you can see the pterodactyl at rest in the foliage. I wanted to leave the pterodactyl there for another child to find but this suggestion was point-blank refused and no amount of coercion was going to change that.

They still got their ice creams though. They deserved them after having to hang about while I took a million photos of the most gorgeous orchids, ferns, cacti, palm trees, hyacinths, roses, papaya plants, puffball trees....ahhh, botanical bliss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.